Report from Atlas Copco’s Annual General Meeting 2009

April 28, 2009

Stockholm, Sweden, April 28, 2009: Atlas Copco AB yesterday held its Annual General Meeting, chaired by Sune Carlsson, Chair of the Board of Directors.

The income statements and the balance sheets of the parent company and the Group were approved, together with the Board’s proposal for profit distribution.

The proposed dividend of SEK 3.00 per share was approved. Record day for the dividend is April 30, 2009, and the dividend is estimated to be distributed by Euroclear Sweden AB on May 6, 2009.

Nine Board members were elected: Sune Carlsson, Jacob Wallenberg, Staffan Bohman, Ulla Litzén, Anders Ullberg, Margareth Øvrum, Christel Bories and Johan Forssell were re-elected. Ronnie Leten was elected new member of the Board. Gunnar Brock had declined re-election.

The Annual General Meeting re-elected Sune Carlsson as Chair of the Board, and Jacob Wallenberg as vice Chair.

The Board of Directors’ fee was resolved to be unchanged, as follows:
A fee of SEK 1 500 000 to the chair, SEK 550 000 to the vice chair and SEK 450 000 to each other Board member not employed by the company. A fee to the members of the Audit Committee of SEK 170 000 to the chair and SEK 110 000 to the other members. A fee of SEK 60 000 to each of the members of the Remuneration Committee. A fee of SEK 60 000 to each Board member who, in addition to the above, participates in a committee in accordance with a decision of the Board of Directors.

The Annual General Meeting approved the suggestion allowing Board members to receive half of the Board fee in the form of synthetic shares and the remaining part in cash. The Board members have elected to accept this offer.

The Annual General Meeting authorized the Board to decide on the purchase and sale of the company's own shares. The purpose of repurchasing shares is to fulfil obligations related to the performance stock option plan for 2009, and to the part of the Board fee that consists of synthetic shares. The purpose of selling shares is to fulfil obligations related to the performance stock option plans for 2006 and 2007.

The Annual General Meeting approved the proposal presented regarding the Nomination Committee and its tasks.

The Annual General Meeting approved the Board’s proposal to change § 9, sub. par.1, in the Articles of Association. The new wording is: “Notice of a general meeting shall be given by posting the notice in Post- och Inrikes Tidningar and on the website of the company. That notice has been given shall at the same time be posted in Svenska Dagbladet and Dagens Nyheter.” The decision is conditioned of the fact that a change of the Swedish Companies Act (SFS 2005:551) as to the notice to a general meeting has entered into force and which change has the effect that the proposed wording above is in compliance with the (changed) Swedish Companies Act.

The statutory Board meeting was held after the Annual General Meeting. Ulla Litzén, Chair, Sune Carlsson and Staffan Bohman were re-elected to serve on the Audit Committee. Johan Forssell was elected as a new member. Sune Carlsson, Chair, Jacob Wallenberg and Anders Ullberg were re-elected as members of the Remuneration Committee.

The speech to the shareholders by Atlas Copco’s President and CEO Gunnar Brock will be published on the Group's website:, where also the minutes from the AGM will be published.

For further information please contact:
Daniel Frykholm, Media Relations Manager
+46 (0)8 743 8060 or +46 (0)70 865 8060

Atlas Copco discloses the information provided herein pursuant to the Securities Markets Act and/or the Financial Instruments Trading Act.