Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee has among other things the task to propose candidates for the Board of Directors with knowledge and experience best suited to the sustainable and profitable development of Atlas Copco.

In compliance with the Swedish Corporate Governance Code and the procedures adopted by the Annual General Meeting 2016, the representatives of the four largest shareholders listed in the shareholders’ register as of August 31, 2022, and the Chair of the Atlas Copco AB Board form the Nomination Committee. The members of the Nomination Committee for the Annual General Meeting 2023 were announced on September 15, 2022. They represented some 30 percent of all votes in the company. The members of the Nomination Committee receive no compensation for their work.

Nomination Committee members for the Annual General Meeting 2023:

  • Petra Hedengran, Investor AB (Chair of the Nomination Committee)
  • Jan Andersson, Swedbank Robur funds
  • Mikael Wiberg, Alecta
  • Helen Fasth Gillstedt, Handelsbanken Fonder AB
  • Hans Stråberg, Chair of the Atlas Copco Board of Directors

The Annual General Meeting will be held April 27, 2023.

Shareholders who wish to submit proposals to the Nomination Committee can do so by e-mailing the secretary of the Nomination Committee at [email protected] or by mailing Eva Klasén, Atlas Copco AB, SE-105 23 Stockholm, Sweden.

The goal of the Nomination Committee is to propose a Board with a broad and complementary experience from a number of important industries and markets, as well as a composition that is characterized by diversity, broadness and gender balance. Experience from manufacturing industry with international coverage is important, as it is Atlas Copco’s main focus. The Nomination Committee’s diversity policy is based on section 4.1 in the Corporate Governance Code. The eight Board members elected by the shareholders have backgrounds from various industries. As proposed to the AGM 2021, two of the seven non-executive members are women. One member is born in the 1940’s, four in the 1950’s, one in the 1960’s, and one is born in the 1970’s. The Board members are of three different nationalities, from Germany and the United States, and a majority of the Board members coming from Sweden. Increasing the diversity of the Board of Directors with regard to gender is a priority for the Nomination Committee.

Based on the findings of the Chair of the Board, the Nomination Committee annually evaluates the work of the Board. Further to that, the Nomination Committee proposes the Chair to the Annual General Meeting, prepares a proposal regarding number and names of Board members, including Chair and a proposal for remuneration to the Chair and other Board members not employed by the Company, as well as a proposal for remuneration for Board committee work. Finally, the Nomination Committee proposes an audit company including remuneration for the audit.

The proposals and the Nomination Committee’s statement will be published at the latest with the notice to the AGM 2022. In view of the Nomination Committee’s strive to reach gender balance, for example in case of equal competence, the candidate that will lead to improved gender balance should be proposed.