New board members proposed for Atlas Copco AB

March 19, 2008

Stockholm, Sweden, March 19, 2008: Atlas Copco’s Nomination Committee proposes Margareth Øvrum and Johan Forssell, as new members of the Board of Directors of Atlas Copco AB.

The proposal includes re-election of Board members Sune Carlsson, Chair, Jacob Wallenberg, Vice Chair, Gunnar Brock, Ulla Litzén, Anders Ullberg and Staffan Bohman. Grace Reksten Skaugen has declined re-election.

Margareth Øvrum, born in 1958, is a Norwegian citizen with a M.Sc. in technical physics, NTH, Norway. Since 2007 she is the Executive Vice President of StatoilHydro, Norway, with responsibility for Technology and New Energy. During her career she has been working for Statoil, where she has held several leading management positions within technology, production and purchasing. Margareth Øvrum is a member of the board of Elkem AS, Norway, a producer of metals and materials.

Johan Forssell, born in 1971, is a Swedish citizen with a M.Sc. in Finance from the Stockholm School of Economics, Sweden. Since January 2006, he is a member of the management group of Investor AB, Sweden, with responsibility for the core investments of the company. During more than 10 years Johan has been working with strategic analyses, acquisitions and divestments in Investor with focus on the mechanical engineering industry.

Atlas Copco’s Annual General Meeting will be held on April 24, 2008, in Stockholm, Sweden.

Atlas Copco discloses the information provided herein pursuant to the Securities Markets Act and/or the Financial Instruments Trading Act. The information was submitted for publication at 08:45 on March 19, 2008.

For further information please contact:

Love Liman, acting Media Relations Manager
+46 (0)8 743 8060 or +46 (0)73 231 8060