The John Munck Award is presented each year to a product developer or designer, or a team, for outstanding contributions to the overall quality of an Atlas Copco product.

John Munck Award for technical innovation 2017

John Munck award

The John Munck Award for technical innovations was presented to Olof Ostensson and Thomas Lilja, who work in technical development for Atlas Copco’s Construction Tools division. They developed the handheld pneumatic breaker RTEX, which cuts energy consumption by half, while being lighter and highly ergonomic. The RTEX has been embraced by customers, who benefit from lower fuel costs, reduced emissions, higher productivity and an improved operator environment.

Recent John Munck Award winners

2016 Andries Desiron, Mark S. Taylor, Glenn Vinck, Joeri Coeckelbergs, Jens Boeckx and Werner De Bruyn

2015 Sebastien Pereira and his team

2014 Bert Derom, Andries Desiron, Tine Hellebuyck and Joris Derde

2013 Jubin Ghassabei, Johan Wallgren, Göran Johansson, Jonas Elofsson, Mamoon Parwani and Helder Francisco

Read more about the John Munck Award